Rajam's Corner

Disi-The 10th chakra

Disi is the name of the tenth chakra in the mela scheme. Disi or the ten directions are east, south-east, south, south-west, west, north-west, north, north-east as well as akasa and patala. The inset shows the eight directions, as also the sky and the ocean. The presiding deities of the eight directions are Indra, Agni, Yama, Nirriti, Varuna, Vayu, Kubera and Easana respectively.